• Momentum
  • Posts
  • Tricky Behavioral Interview Questions and How to Approach Them

Tricky Behavioral Interview Questions and How to Approach Them

Mastering Challenging Behavioral Interview Questions: Strategies and Tips

Tricky Behavioral Interview Questions and How to Approach Them

Behavioral and HR interview questions are very common in the hiring process of many companies. While some people dislike them, preferring to showcase their technical skills, understanding their importance can significantly improve your interview performance.

When I first encountered these questions, I didn't appreciate their value. However, once I began conducting interviews myself, I understood their purpose.

First things first: In such rounds, it’s crucial to remain diplomatic, calm, non-aggressive, and politically correct. It might feel like you’re not being yourself, especially if you want to vent about a previous boss or stressful deadlines, but it’s essential to keep such thoughts to yourself during the interview.

Here are some tips for handling these interviews effectively:

  • Be diplomatic and mature: Speak slowly and avoid using overly technical jargon. Remember, the interviewer might be tired or stressed, having interviewed multiple candidates before you. Your goal is to make the interview as pleasant as possible.

  • Bring positivity: As mentioned in earlier posts, don’t be a jerk. Try to bring some positivity into the interview.

Pre-Interview Preparation

Before attending an interview, remember this most important point: Know your resume inside and out. Everything on your resume can be questioned—technical skills, education, work experience, courses, summaries—so make sure you are familiar with all the details. If your resume includes a lot of technical information, be prepared for interviewers with STEM backgrounds.

Common Behavioral Questions and How to Answer Them

  1. Why do you want to quit your current job?
    General rule: Don’t speak negatively about your current job. Instead, frame your answer around personal growth, lack of advancement opportunities. Avoid mentioning company politics, culture, or bad bosses. Interviewers might think you'll speak ill of their company in the future.
    Example answer: "I feel my personal growth has slowed, and there are no opportunities to move to another team due to internal policies. I’m looking for new challenges and opportunities to grow."

  2. Why do you want to join us?
    This question is similar to the first one. Focus on the company’s products, tech stack, and challenges. Express genuine interest in these aspects.
    Example answer: "I’m impressed by your company’s product X, which I use daily. I’m excited about the opportunity to work on such an innovative product and learn new things. Could you share any upcoming features or challenges for the next version?"

  3. What are your strengths and weaknesses?
    The challenging part is discussing weaknesses. Avoid mentioning work-related negative traits like impatience or rudeness. Instead, choose a non-work-related weakness or a mild work-related issue.
    Example answer: "I’m not very good with maps and often rely on GPS even in familiar areas. This helps me stay focused on my work and personal growth without getting sidetracked."

  4. Are you happy at your current job?
    This can be a tricky question. Balance your answer with both positives and polished negatives.
    Example answer: "I’ve learned a lot and appreciate the experiences I’ve gained. However, the product has matured, leading to less productive work. I’m eager to take on new challenges and work with different technologies."

  5. What has been the biggest failure of your career so far?
    Even if you don’t have a major failure, craft a reasonable story. Focus on a mistake and the corrective actions you took.
    Example answer: "Once, I missed a critical bug that caused significant issues. I received critical feedback, which led me to enhance test automation and adopt TDD practices, reducing future errors significantly."

  6. What would you like to improve at your current workplace?
    Avoid badmouthing your employer. Stick to technical improvements.
    Example answer: "I think we could streamline code reviews and invest more in test automation infrastructure to improve efficiency."

  7. Are you happy at your current job?
    This question can be a trap. If you only speak positively, the interviewer might ask why you are looking for another job if you like your current one so much. Answer diplomatically, highlighting both positives and areas for growth.
    Example answer: "I’ve learned a lot and appreciate the opportunities I’ve had at my current job. This being my first job, it has a special place for me as I learned the ways of the industry here. However, the product has evolved to a point where most of my work is now focused on maintenance rather than new development. I’m looking for new challenges and the chance to work on different technologies to expand my skills."
    You can also incorporate points from "Why do you want to quit your current job?" to strengthen your answer.

  8. What has been the biggest failure of your career so far?
    Even if you haven’t experienced a major failure, craft a reasonable story. Focus on a mistake and the corrective actions you took to improve.
    Example answer: "In my career, I once caused a major feature to break due to a missed bug. This led to significant issues and critical feedback from my boss. To address this, I enhanced our test automation and adopted Test-Driven Development (TDD) practices. These changes significantly reduced similar errors in the future, preventing at least 20 major bugs from slipping through."
    Talking about corrective actions and improvements is the most crucial part here. If possible, support your story with data to demonstrate the effectiveness of your actions.

Final Thoughts

Behavioral interview questions can be challenging, but with proper preparation and a positive attitude, you can handle them effectively. Remember to stay calm, be diplomatic, and focus on growth and learning opportunities.

Reply

or to participate.